Posted by: derekchad | June 8, 2011

Just another day in paradise

You maybe wondering what happened to me yesterday, but I’m not going to get into it. Let’s just say that some days are better than others, I don’t like riding in the heat, and yesterday was hot.

Today started out the exact opposite. In fact we didn’t see the sun until the halfway to LA point at the top of the Evil Twins, where we all gathered to take a group photo. (I didn’t take any pictures today, but I’ll get some from friends and add them to this post later).

Turns out the sun wasn’t really out, we were just above the gloom, and the descent all the way to the ocean (at 35+ mph) was brutally cold.

I should explain now that today is, and always has been my favorite route. Clocking in at 97 miles, it’s long, but the scenery is beautiful and varied. We begin the day in wine country, reach the ocean, pass through Morro Bay, have lunch at a college, ride through a military base, reach the ocean again at beautiful Pismo Beach, ride inland again through farm country and end in Santa Maria.

A long day was made longer by gathering for team photos, stopping to help two riders with flats, and getting a flat myself…3 miles from camp. It was, however, a truly great day; I felt and finished strong and had a wonderful time with my friends.

Tomorrow is our “rest” day: only 40 miles (with lots of climbing) in red dresses.

Leave a Reply

Categories

